Toe Clips or Clipless?

Welcome to the Cycle Oregon Forum! We hope you enjoy it and look forward to your postings.

Thank you

Moderators: Cowboy, Jackson, chris@cycleoregon

Toe Clips or Clipless?

Postby knut » Thu Mar 12, 2009 10:19 pm

I am using toe clips on my hybrid bike, and they seem to work well. Just using them to raise my leg enough to eliminate the weight of my foot speeds up the bike at least 2 mph, although I can't keep up the pace for too long. I'm sure that with more practice it'll get easier. Should I consider clipless pedals? I'm a newbie to road biking, so would appreciate any comments, and thanks.
Knut
knut

Re: Toe Clips or Clipless?

Postby Force 5 Robert » Fri Mar 13, 2009 9:08 am

Clipless - you will not regret it. Go eggbeaters.

:)
http://rosecityrecumbentcycles.com/
Force 5 Robert

Postby Sandra » Fri Mar 13, 2009 12:05 pm

I used toe clips on my Trek 7200, but switched to clipless and also have clipless on my Cannondale; BIG DIFFERENCE! Do clipless . I have Shimano's.
Sandra

Postby Force 5 Robert » Fri Mar 13, 2009 1:40 pm

The best thing you will gain by getting clipless (eggbeaters) is that you will be able to spin better. On a CO with days of climbing - this will save you - big time. Just make sure you get them now so you can get used to clipping/unclipping.

(eggbeaters)

:)
Force 5 Robert

Postby StarlightPurpleIF » Tue Mar 17, 2009 6:37 am

We clip in and out of clipless pedals. But we don't clip into and out of pedals with toe clips. That blows my mind, maaaaaaaaaaaaaaan!
StarlightPurpleIF

Postby DWM » Tue Mar 17, 2009 8:40 pm

knut wrote:I am using toe clips on my hybrid bike, and they seem to work well. Just using them to raise my leg enough to eliminate the weight of my foot speeds up the bike at least 2 mph, although I can't keep up the pace for too long. I'm sure that with more practice it'll get easier. Should I consider clipless pedals? I'm a newbie to road biking, so would appreciate any comments, and thanks.
Knut