First time rider question ... Weather?

Moderators: Cowboy, Jackson, chris@cycleoregon

First time rider question ... Weather?

Postby cyclingbeaver » Mon Jun 02, 2014 12:20 pm

We are coming from Colorado - I'm a veteran of 6 Ride the Rockies, 2 Bicycle Tours of Colorado, and 1 RAGBRAI. Really looking forward to riding in Oregon since this will be completely new. Given that, what should we expect the weather to be like in September? I've only been to Seaside and Portland in September, and that was 20 years ago. Someone told us to expect the weather to be similar to what we are used to in Colorado since this is the "dry" area of Oregon. Any tips/recommendations/advice would be appreciated. We are using the Tent and Porter service so I'd like to know what to expect for night-time as well as day-time riding ...
cyclingbeaver

Re: First time rider question ... Weather?

Postby Jackson » Wed Jun 04, 2014 3:24 pm

This is Oregon, plan for dry or wet conditions. upper 30's for lows to high 80's during the day. Extremes on either side. Check the weather forecast about 10 days prior for a better chance at getting it correct.
Jackson

Postby Entiat » Fri Jun 06, 2014 3:19 pm

Chances are you won't need your rain or winter gear much if at all, but definitely bring some. The "average" day will start out chilly (arm warmers and full gloves) but rapidly warm up to summer gear (CO is great about gear drops).

But north central Oregon (and south central Washington) can pretty much do anything. You might spend the week in your summer gear and never touch an arm warmer...or you might have to break out rain gear for a couple days...although the "average" day in those parts, that time of year, has no rain and mild-to-warm temps.

I recall one ride (2006? 2008?) where the forecast for the entire week was sunny...right up until the next to last day of the week and snow closed our intended route and they re-routed us through some wickedly cold rain instead. (lobster claws FTW!)