Debating on Attending

Moderators: Cowboy, Jackson, chris@cycleoregon

Debating on Attending

Postby mfirth » Fri Jun 17, 2016 11:28 am

Hello All,

I am moving to Eugene, Oregon in August and came across Cycle Oregon and the week long race randomly, but instantly became very interested in it. I just had a few questions/looking for advice and hoped you could help.

First off, anyone know when the registration ends, or if it is close to being full? I noticed in past years it has filled up so I was surprised to see it was still open at this point.

I am 26, and while very comfortable with being around and hanging out with people older than me, I was interested in the average age of those riding?

I haven't been riding too much this year so I am a bit worried about getting in shape for the race. I don't have a ton of cycling experience besides training for the ironman I did a few years back (cyling is my worst part of the 3). If I started training a decent amount soon I should be ok in just under 3 months, right? I guess just looking for recommendations and past experiences with training for the week long ride.

In the mornings is it like a mass start or more of a 'get on the road when you want' type of deal? I guess if you want to get done earlier and relax at that days end point you could leave early, but is there a need to rush things?

I guess that is all I have for now. I am on the fence right now, but maybe a few of you can convince me to jump all the way over.
mfirth

Re: Debating on Attending

Postby tedder42 » Fri Jun 17, 2016 4:48 pm

Not a race. Not even fondo style.

I don't know how full it is. It typically sells out.

You should be comfortable riding 60 miles on back-to-back days, and should have at least done a few rides with climbs over 4000 feet.

Some of us are young.

Eugene? Ride the Blackberry bRamble. It's a nice ride.
tedder42

Postby mytrot » Fri Jun 17, 2016 8:39 pm